Can you have too many strawberries?

Our strawberry crop is doing magnificantly.  I have been growing strawberries for 25 years, starting off in pots when I lived in a flat, and now at Buckland St Mary, growing them in our wonderful fertile soil, we have the largest strawberries I have ever grown.

My wonderful strawberries

We  have so many strawberries that it is even too many for us to eat, when we are having them for breakfast with our cereal and then again in the evening for dessert. Can you ever have too many strawberries?

It seems like sacreligious but I am going to have to make jam out of our home grown strawberries.  I have never done this before, always making jam out of fruit from the Pick Your Own.

I am starting to feel guilty about Mr Blackbird.  Having been deprived of my raspberries he is hell bent on getting into the strawberry patch.  He even made a hole in the netting and hopped through today, only to be helped out again by us.  Perhaps as we have so many strawberries I should leave a couple on the ground just for him?  But I don’t really want him to get the taste for them, otherwise we could go from plentiful supply to none very quickly!!

Leave a Reply

