Little Easter Fairy Cakes

Today was my turn to make small cakes for the “Golden Age Group” that I help out with.  This is a club for elderly people in Churchingford every fortnight.  They have a speaker, then a high tea of sandwiches, scones and cakes.  As we have just had Easter I decided to make my fairy cakes with an Easter theme.

Little Easter fairy cakes

It’s a simple recipe.  You weigh the eggs and then add the same of sugar, butter and flour.  I used 3 eggs that weighed 200g, so beat together 200g of butter and light brown sugar, then added 200g of self raising flour.  I split the mixture into 2, and into one bowl I added a teaspoon of mixed spice and half a teaspoon of ginger powder and a generous sprinkling of dried currants.  Into the other bowl I added 4 teaspoons of cocoa powder, then turned them into individual cake cases.  Popped them in the oven at 200 degrees for 15 minutes, and left them to cool. I made some icing out of icing sugar and water, and for the chocolate icing added more cocoa powder, and then topped them off with mini chocolate eggs.  I’m always making cakes, as I like to offer my B&B guests cakes when they arrive.  see us atwww.lodgehousebandbsomerset.co.uk

2 Comments »

  1. Kate said

    these look gorgeous!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

