Simple pleasures – homegrown and homemade

During a brief respite in the rain (it has poured here for 2 days solid), I managed to get out and pick runner beans.  The beans love the rain and have been growing like mad.

runner beans picked today

We have so many beans I am taking some to a friend tonight and I have already posted some to my Dad!!

I also noticed that our second row of peas have started to swell in the wet weather, so I picked some today, just enough for tonight’s dinner.

today’s peas

Whilst I was out picking veggies, my little cakes were baking in the oven.  I just used one egg, weighed it, and used equal quantities of butter, castor sugar and flour, then added ginger powder and sultanas.  Really simple little cakes that only take 18 minutes at 200 degrees C to cook.

Little ginger and sultana cakes

We’ve just had a cup of tea and a little cake still warm, lovely.  So simple pleasures for a wet weekend.  Now I must go and get on with some ironing, not such a pleasure!!

visit us at www.lodgehousebandbsomerset.co.uk

Leave a Reply

