Beautiful Blackberries

Last year I planted a cultivated blackberry cane into the fruit cage.  I started to regret this decision when the plant turned into a triffid and produced runners all over the place, but in the Summer it was covered in blossom, and the bees were all over it.  I thought I might get some good fruit from it, and I wasn’t wrong.  The blackberries are not only plentiful but enormous.  Some the size of a 10p piece.  The wild blackberries are more like a 5p piece.

Comparative sizes of blackberries

Last night I picked the biggest ones out and we ate them raw with some creme fraiche, they were delicious, but today I picked some apples from our Bramley apple tree and cooked up some apple and the remaining blackberries with them, to freeze and to turn into blackberry and apple crumble later in the year.

Beautiful blackberries

So now, not only do I not have to go foraging for wild blackberries in the hedgerows, but I no longer regret planting this blackberry plant, as it is producing bountious beautiful blackberries.

www.lodgehousebandbsomerset.co.uk

1 Comment »

  1. Nikitaland said

    You have some beautiful berries! Time to make some pies!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

