Baby Butternut Squash

All the cold and damp weather we have had in the UK this Summer has meant that my Butternut Squash plants are well behind where they should be for this time of year.  The frost we had a few days ago has killed off some of the leaves and the plants are dying back now.

Butternut squash plants dying off

However as the leaves die off they expose baby butternut squash.  The question is will these survive?  I have read that you can pick squash, bring them indoors and leave for 4 to 6 weeks to ripen.  But are mine just too small, or should I leave them on the plant for as long as possible?  If anyone has experience with these, please let me know what is best to do.

one of the baby butternut squash

The largest squash is about 6 inches long, but some are real baby ones only 3 to 4 inches long.  I wonder if they will ever be ripe enough for us to eat?

Another baby butternut squash

visit us at http://www.lodgehousebandbsomerset.co.uk

http://www.facebook.com/LodgeHouseBandB

3 Comments »

  1. I wish I could offer advice. I’ve never tried butternut squash. My gut tells me leave them on the vine as long as the vine is still green then bring them in to ripen inside.

    Good luck.

    • An addendum to this. Unfortunately the butternut squash I brought in all went mouldy and I had to throw them into the compost. I shall try again next year, perhaps we shall have more sunshine than this year.

  2. I did pick the 3 largest ones yesterday and bring them in and put them in a bowl with a ripe banana, to see if that will aid ripening them. we will have to see

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

