Bright flower in November

I have never grown Dahlias before, but this year decided to grow them from bulbs, in pots in the front garden for the first time.  I have had a couple of white flowers, then this single beautiful purple flower came out to give us colour and brightness in these dark winterish November days.

purple dahlia

This cheers me up to see such a bright flower in November.  I shall definitely grow more Dahlias next year!!

visit us at http://www.lodgehousebandbsomerset.co.uk

http://www.facebook.com/LodgeHouseBandB

9 Comments »

  1. Nikitaland said

    It is stunning to see something this beautiful in November. I actually picked last Sunday a few orange mums that were still blooming for the kitchen table, and they have brightened my day every time I look at them.

  2. Besay said

    Beautiful kathy! Will be wonderfull to see the garden at this time next year. I would love to see it.
    xxx

    • Thanks Besay, perhaps one day you will come and see us?

      • Besay said

        sure! I have it in mind. I’d love to see you after so long, it would be wonderful.

  3. Beautiful. I put some dahlia bulbs in my back yard and they grew about 100 feet tall with small flowers on the ends then tipped over. I clearly did something wrong and you’ve obviously nailed it!

  4. I’m with you on dahlias – they go on and on until the first frosts and look lovely even drenched in rain! 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

