Resilient Marigolds

Today started with a sharp frost which cleared to give a cold dry day.  Neil and I decided to make the most of the non-rainy day by doing some work outside.  He is repairing and rebuilding the fence by the side of our garage which adjoins the neighbouring farmer’s field.

DSC04981

I thought I would try and plant out into pots the remaining daffodil bulbs, which I should have done some time ago, but these are the last few I hadn’t got round to.  As I cleared out some of the bedding plants from pots I noticed a splash of orange.  My Calendula Marigolds were still in flower this late into November (it being the 30th today).  How amazing and how lovely to see these bright orange flower heads on a dull overcast day.

DSC04988

I was a bit late planting these Marigolds from seed this year, so I guess they are just catching up on their flowering time.  I shall save the seed heads so I can plant again next year.

http://www.lodgehousebandbsomerset.co.uk

http://www.facebook.com/LodgeHouseBandB

2 Comments »

  1. My marigolds are in bloom as well. Not much is alive in both the UK and Australia it’s nice to see a plant that spans the seasons.

    • perhaps yours are early and mine are late. It is unusual to have marigolds in flower at the end of November over here.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

