My Hubby’s 59th Birthday Cake

It was my Hubby’s 59th birthday, so I baked him a cake.  I used a recipe for a light fruit cake that I used before, but used a few different ingredients.  I don’t like mixed peel so I didn’t put any in, and when I went to my store cupboard I found I didn’t have any currants so I used other dried fruit.  These are the ingredients I used:

  • 175g      light muscavado sugar
  • 175g      butter softened
  • 175g      self raising flour (I used wholemeal)
  • 1           teaspoon baking powder
  • 3           large free range  eggs
  • 2           tablespoons of  milk
  • 465g mixed fruit I used:
  • 110g      sultanas
  • 55g        dried sweet cherries, quartered
  • 85g        dried apricots, snipped into small pieces
  • 110g      raisins
  • 55g        dates, chopped into small pieces
  • 50g        dried cranberries
  • 1             teaspoon of mixed  spice
  • 2            teaspoons of ground ginger

DSC06323

I cut up the dates and apricots into small pieces:

DSC06324

I prepared the flour, sugar, eggs and milk.  I ran out of light muscavado sugar so had to top up with light brown sugar, but I don’t think it makes that much of  a difference if you just add a little.

DSC06326

Preparation:

  • Heat the oven to 160C/320F/gas3
  • grease  and line the base and sides of an 8 inch round cake tin with baking parchment
  • beat the butter and sugar together until soft and fluffy
  • add the eggs one at a time and beat
  • add the milk
  • add the flour and all the dry fruit ingredients and fold in
  • tip the mixture into the prepared cake tin

DSC06327

  • place the cake in the oven and bake for 1 3/4 to 2 hours or until golden brown and a skewer or knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.

DSC06328

  • place the cake on a cooling rack to cool before removing from the tin
  • decorate  as required (I put marzipan and icing and candles on mine)

DSC06331

Here he is just about to blow out the candles:-

DSC06332

And thoroughly delicious it was too!!

4 Comments »

  1. Looks like a fantastic cake, and a very blessed husband!

  2. Nikitaland said

    Aw, happy birthday hubby!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

