Buckland St Mary Flower Show 2015

Yesterday (Sunday) was the day of the annual Buckland St Mary Flower and vegetable show.  It’s always good fun and categories are hotly contested, but all the money raised goes to charity.  This year it was the Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance.  We entered several categories and won a few prizes.

I got a first for my peas in a pod. That’s the red ticket.DSC00428And a second for my lovely blueberries. that’s a blue ticket.

DSC00434

Neil got a second place for his potatoes.

DSC00429

And a second for our eggs.

DSC00431

I got a third place for my lovely yellow courgettes, that’s a green ticket.

DSC00427

Altogether we got, one first place, three second places and eight third places.  We got third place for Neil’s Blackberry wine, my strawberry cordial, my strawberry and red gooseberry jam and two of my photos.

DSC00435

When we came home we put all our winning exhibits on the table and took a photo.

DSC00441

We saw lots of our friends at the show, and were comparing notes on who had entered and won what.  We also had afternoon tea and cake there, so a very enjoyable afternoon all round.  We showed our B&B guests our exhibits and told them they could have prize winning eggs and jam with their breakfast this morning!!

http://www.lodgehousebandbsomerset.co.uk

 

3 Comments »

  1. Oh how exciting. This reminds me of when my daughters did 4-H. Later I entered in the open class. We haven’t done that for a long time. I still look at the produce, though, in terms of how it would be judged at the fair. Ha!!

  2. Congratulations! How fun!

  3. Bill said

    What a great idea! It all looks beautiful. The eggs are especially impressive!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

