Rural craft – making a Christmas Wreath

I do this every year, make a Christmas wreath.  After all we have all the components down the woods.  Neil picked some thin willow whips and bent them round a pail.

dsc01165

We gathered some greenery:- ivy with flowers on, holly, evergreen mint, fir tree and rosemary.

dsc01166

I started by winding some ivy round the willow whips and attaching with thin wire.

dsc01167

Next I added the rosemary to give the wreath a nice scent.

dsc01168

Then I wound some evergreen mint  and some holly round the wreath to add some more green colour. However the holly didn’t half prickle my fingers!

dsc01169

To finish it off I add a red bow and bauble, some red berries and wound some elasticated red ribbon all the way round to help keep everything in place. We added a wire loop to hang it up and proudly displayed it on our front door.

dsc01170

I made another one for an elderly friend but didn’t add the holly and actually I think it is the better one.  Practice makes perfect as they say.

Come and see all our Christmas decorations http://www.lodgehousebandbsomerset.co.uk

dsc01171

Leave a Reply

